Friday, May 8, 2020

May 8, 2020


New Book Cover.jpg
My new book: Aliens, Robots & Virtual Reality Idols in the Science Fiction of H. P. Lovecraft, Isaac Asimov and William Gibson can now be pre-ordered; it is available from my publishers, and also, on Google Books, Amazon, Waterstones, Thriftbooks and even Walmart.com.  Please pick up a copy- it was fun to write & will be a lot of fun to read.

I demonstrate that there is ultimately little difference between alien indifferentism & alien inclusionism in the fictional works of these three great writers; the robots and the VR idols evolve into monsters whose actions bring about outcomes which are every bit as terrifying as anything in Lovecraft’s work.

Best wishes everyone!

JLS


Saturday, April 11, 2020

April 11, 2020


Easter Morning

She stood in front of the tomb, thinking. The stone had been rolled aside. The tomb was empty.

There was nothing there.

So, she left. She walked in the woods. And the birds were singing. And the dawn was breaking.

It was early spring.

It was, in many ways, Him. And in other ways, it wasn't.

After a time, she became tired & laid against a tree and fell asleep.

Then, the angels came.

They had come to take her with them, if she had been unable to go further. But she was dreaming & she was happy. So, the angels left.

On Earth, the bliss comes & goes, comes & goes.

And the angels accept this.  And she accepts it.

John L. Steadman

Thursday, April 2, 2020

April 2, 2020


The Creation & Nothingness Syllogisms

If space & time are constant for a moment, however briefly, then creation begins & begins, again & again.

If space & time are constant forever, then there is nothingness.

JLS



Saturday, March 21, 2020

March 22,2020


The Space & Time Syllogisms

If we hold space constant, then we can travel through time. When we time travel, we are in hypertime.

If we hold time constant, then we can travel through space. When we space travel, we are in hyperspace.

JLS



Wednesday, March 11, 2020

March 11, 2020

Greetings Everyone!

My new book: Aliens, Robots & Virtual Reality Idols in the Science Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft, Isaac Asimov and William Gibson is due to be published on October 30th of this year; it is a fun, exciting read for fans of H. P. Lovecraft & everyone who is interested in science fiction, horror & fantasy.

Front CoverYou can pre-order it from Google Books, as well as from my publishers Zero Books,  Amazon, Indiebound, Waterstones and other retail sites.  There is also an e-book available for those of you who prefer screens to paper; Asimov's robots would definitely fit this profile. 

Sunday, March 8, 2020

March 8, 2020

Greetings Everyone!

My new book: Aliens, Robots & Virtual Reality Idols in the Science Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft, Isaac Asimov and William Gibson is due to be published on October 30th of this year; it is a fun, exciting read for fans of H. P. Lovecraft & everyone who is interested in science fiction, horror & fantasy.

You can pre-order it from Zero Books right now; Zero Books is the leading publisher in the US & UK for cutting-edge philosophy & political books. If you prefer, you can also pre-order it from Google Books, Amazon, Indiebound, Barnes & Noble, Waterstones and other retail sites.

Humans tend to be isolates ("alien"-nated); the reader is invited to question this & to consider the possibility that an alien perspective might be necessary if we intend on seeing ourselves clearly & understanding what it means to be human.


JLS

Monday, December 9, 2019

December 9, 2019


My new book Aliens, Robots & Virtual Reality Idols in the Science Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft, Isaac Asimov and William Gibson is due to be published on October 30, 2020 by Zer0 Books, the leading publisher in the US & UK for cutting-edge philosophy & political books!


The book will be available in the next two or three months for pre-order on retail sites such as Amazon US, Amazon UK, Indiebound, Barnes & Noble, Waterstones and others. 

I will keep you (and all of my other readers on Facebook, Twitter, etc.) posted as to the actual date that pre-orders begin so that you can order the book in advance.

Aliens, Robots & Virtual Reality Idols is a fun, exciting read for fans of Lovecraft, Asimov & Gibson, and for any reader who likes science fiction & horror fiction.  So pick up a copy! 

JLS